TRB Volunteers and Staff


Field of Transportation Planning—Area of Human and Natural Environment

Thomas Doherty, DNV, Nashville, TN (Chair)
Austina Casey, District Department of Transportation, Washington, DC
Cindy S. Copeland, Boulder County (CO), Boulder, CO
Faisal Hameed, EXP, Washington, DC
Karin J. Landsberg, Washington State Department of Transportation, Olympia, WA
E. Cris B. Liban, Los Angeles County (CA) Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Los Angeles, CA
Matt K. Perlik, Ohio Department of Transportation, Columbus, OH
Jonathan D. Rubin, University of Maine, Orono, ME
John Davies, FHWA Liaison
Matthew H. Hardy, AASHTO Liaison
Melissa Anderson Savage, AASHTO Liaison
Christine L. Gerencher, TRB Liaison


Christopher J. Hedges, Director, Cooperative Research Programs
Lori L. Sundstrom, Deputy Director, Cooperative Research Programs
Waseem Dekelbab, Associate Program Manager, National Cooperative Highway Research Program
Ann M. Hartell, Senior Program Officer
Jarrel McAfee, Senior Program Assistant
Natalie Barnes, Director of Publications
Heather DiAngelis, Associate Director of Publications
Ellen M. Chafee, Senior Editor


Chair: Nathaniel P. Ford, Sr., Chief Executive Officer, Jacksonville Transportation Authority, Jacksonville, FL
Vice Chair: Shawn Wilson, Secretary, Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development, Baton Rouge
Executive Director: Neil J. Pedersen, Transportation Research Board, Washington, DC

Michael F. Ableson, CEO, Arrival Automotive–North America, Detroit, MI
James F. Albaugh, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Boeing Company (retired), Scottsdale, AZ
Douglas C. Ceva, Vice President, Customer Lead Solutions, Prologis, Inc., Jupiter, FL
Marie Therese Dominguez, Commissioner, New York State Department of Transportation, Albany
Ginger Evans, Chief Strategy Officer, CAG Holdings, Inc., Washington, DC
Michael F. Goodchild, Professor Emeritus, Department of Geography, University of California, Santa Barbara
Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti, Commissioner, New Jersey Department of Transportation, Trenton
Stephen W. Hargarten, Director, Injury Research Center, Associate Dean, Office of Global Health, Professor, Emergency Medicine, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Chris T. Hendrickson, Hamerschlag University Professor of Engineering Emeritus, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA
Randell Iwasaki, Leader of State and Local Transportation, Amazon Web Services, Walnut Creek, CA
Ashby Johnson, Executive Director, Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (CAMPO), Austin, TX
Joel M. Jundt, Secretary of Transportation, South Dakota Department of Transportation, Pierre
Drew Kodjak, Executive Director, International Council on Clean Transportation, Washington, DC
Carol A. Lewis, Professor, Transportation Studies, Texas Southern University, Houston
Julie Lorenz, Secretary, Kansas Department of Transportation, Topeka
Michael R. McClellan, Vice President, Strategic Planning, Norfolk Southern Corporation, Norfolk, VA
Patrick K. McKenna, Director, Missouri Department of Transportation, Jefferson City
Craig E. Philip, Research Professor and Director, VECTOR, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN
Steward T.A. Pickett, Distinguished Senior Scientist, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY
Leslie S. Richards, General Manager, Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA), Philadelphia
Kevin J. Thibault, Secretary, Florida Department of Transportation, Tallahassee
James M. Tien, Distinguished Professor and Dean Emeritus, College of Engineering, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL

Michael R. Berube, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Sustainable Transportation, U.S. Department of Energy, Washington, DC
Amit Bose, Administrator, Federal Railroad Administration, Washington, DC
Carlos M. Braceras, Executive Director, Utah Department of Transportation, Salt Lake City
Tristan Brown, Deputy Administrator, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation, Washington, DC
Steven Cliff, Deputy Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Washington, DC
Richard Corey, Executive Officer, California Air Resources Board, Sacramento
Stephen M. Dickson, Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation, Washington, DC
Nuria I. Fernandez, Administrator, Federal Transit Administration, Washington, DC
LeRoy Gishi, Chief, Division of Transportation, Bureau of Indian Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior, Germantown, MD
Martha R. Grabowski, McDevitt Distinguished Chair in Information Systems, Le Moyne College, Syracuse, NY, and Senior Research Scientist, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY
William H. Graham, Jr. (Major General, U.S. Army), Deputy Commanding General for Civil and Emergency Operations, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Washington, DC
John T. Gray II, Senior Vice President, Policy and Economics, Association of American Railroads, Washington, DC
Robert C. Hampshire, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Research and Technology, U.S. Department of Transportation, Washington, DC
Robin Hutcheson, Deputy Administrator, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Washington, DC
Eleftheria Kontou, Assistant Professor, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, and Chair, TRB Young Members Coordinating Council
Stephanie Pollack, Deputy Administrator, Federal Highway Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation, Washington, DC
Craig A. Rutland, U.S. Air Force Pavement Engineer, U.S. Air Force Civil Engineer Center, Tyndall Air Force Base, FL
Susan A. Shaheen, Professor and Co-Director, Transportation Sustainability Research Center, University of California, Berkeley
Karl Simon, Director, Transportation and Climate Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Washington, DC
Paul P. Skoutelas, President and CEO, American Public Transportation Association, Washington, DC
Polly Trottenberg, Deputy Secretary of Transportation, U.S. Department of Transportation, Washington, DC
Jim Tymon, Executive Director, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, Washington, DC

* Membership as of February 2022.