TRB Volunteers and Staff

Field of Safety

Augustus L. Hudson,Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, Atlanta, GA (Chair)
Kurt Cabral, Eastern Research Group, Inc., Winter Garden, FL
Sarah Ferrara, City of Scottsdale—Scottsdale Airport, Scottsdale, AZ
David M. McCurdy, Tarrant County (TX) Administrator's Office, Fort Worth, TX
Elly Mixsell, Wired Communications, Dallas, TX
Crystal L. Nosal, The George Washington University, Washington, DC
Chelsea A. Treboniak, Critical Ops, LLC, Westlake, OH
Greg A. Willis, Jr., Jacksonville Aviation Authority, Jacksonville, FL
Janel Showalter, FAA Liaison
Marc Tonnacliff, FAA Liaison
Steve Andreadis, U.S. Copyright Office, Washington, DC
Scott Elmore, Airports Council International—North America Liaison
Christine Gerencher, TRB Liaison


Christopher J. Hedges, Director, Cooperative Research Programs
Lori L. Sundstrom, Deputy Director, Cooperative Research Programs
Marci A. Greenberger, Manager, Airport Cooperative Research Program
Brittany Summerlin-Azeez, Program Coordinator
Eileen P. Delaney, Director of Publications
Natalie Barnes, Associate Director of Publications
Ellen M. Chafee, Senior Editor


Rhonda Hamm-Niebruegge
St. Louis Lambert International Airport

Eric R. Potts
Freese and Nichols, Inc.

Gloria G. Bender
TransSolutions, LLC
Rochelle L. Cameron
Philadelphia International Airport
Marianne Csaky
Alaska Airlines
Kimberly A. Kenville
University of North Dakota
Winsome A. Lenfert
Federal Aviation Administration
Scott McMahon
Morristown Municipal Airport
Frank R. Miller
Hollywood Burbank Airport
Bob Montgomery
Southwest Airlines
Cathryn Stephens
Eugene Airport

Justin Barkowski
American Association of Airport Executives
Sabrina Johnson
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Laura Rinaldi McKee
Airlines for America
Christopher J. Oswald
Airports Council International–North America
Gregory Pecoraro
National Association of State Aviation Officials
Neil J. Pedersen
Transportation Research Board
T.J. Schulz
Airport Consultants Council

Christopher J. Hedges
Transportation Research Board

*Membership as of August 2020


Chair: Carlos M. Braceras, Executive Director, Utah Department of Transportation, Salt Lake City
Vice Chair: Susan A. Shaheen, Adjunct Professor, Co-Director, Transportation Sustainability Research Center, University of California, Berkeley
Executive Director: Neil J. Pedersen, Transportation Research Board

Michael F. Ableson, CEO, Arrival Automotive–North America, Birmingham, MI
Marie Therese Dominguez, Commissioner, New York State Department of Transportation, Albany
Ginger Evans, CEO, Reach Airports, LLC, Arlington, VA
Nuria I. Fernandez, General Manager/CEO, Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority, San Jose, CA
Nathaniel P. Ford, Sr., Executive Director–CEO, Jacksonville Transportation Authority, Jacksonville, FL
Michael F. Goodchild, Professor Emeritus, Department of Geography, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA
Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti, Commissioner, New Jersey Department of Transportation, Trenton
Susan Hanson, Distinguished University Professor Emerita, Graduate School of Geography, Clark University, Worcester, MA
Stephen W. Hargarten, Professor, Emergency Medicine, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Chris T. Hendrickson, Hamerschlag University Professor of Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University,
Pittsburgh, PA

S. Jack Hu, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, University of Georgia, Athens
Roger B. Huff, President, HGLC, LLC, Farmington Hills, MI
Ashby Johnson, Executive Director, Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (CAMPO), Austin, TX
Geraldine Knatz, Professor, Sol Price School of Public Policy, Viterbi School of Engineering, University of Southern California, Los Angeles
William Kruger, Vice President, UPS Freight for Fleet Maintenance and Engineering, Richmond, VA
Julie Lorenz, Secretary, Kansas Department of Transportation, Topeka
Michael R. McClellan, Vice President, Strategic and Network Planning, Norfolk Southern Corporation, Norfolk, VA
Melinda McGrath, Executive Director, Mississippi Department of Transportation, Jackson
Patrick K. McKenna, Director, Missouri Department of Transportation, Jefferson City
Brian Ness, Director, Idaho Transportation Department, Boise
James M. Tien, Distinguished Professor and Dean Emeritus, College of Engineering, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL
Shawn Wilson, Secretary, Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development, Baton Rouge

Victoria A. Arroyo, Executive Director, Georgetown Climate Center; Assistant Dean, Centers and Institutes; and Professor and Director, Environmental Law Program, Georgetown University Law Center, Washington, D.C.
Ronald Batory, Administrator, Federal Railroad Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation
Michael R. Berube, Acting Assistant Secretary for Sustainable Transportation, U.S. Department of Energy, Washington, D.C.
Mark H. Buzby (Rear Admiral, U.S. Navy), Administrator, Maritime Administration, U.S. Department
of Transportation

Steven Cliff, Deputy Executive Officer, California Air Resources Board, Sacramento
Edward N. Comstock, Independent Naval Architect, Sunbury, MD
Stephen Dickson, Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration, Washington, D.C.
Howard R. Elliott, Administrator, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation
Diana Furchtgott-Roth, Assistant Secretary for Research and Technology, Office of the Secretary of
Transportation, Washington, D.C.

LeRoy Gishi, Chief, Division of Transportation, Bureau of Indian Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior, Germantown, MD
John T. Gray II, Senior Vice President, Policy and Economics, Association of American Railroads, Washington, D.C.
Nikola Ivanov, Director of Operations, Center for Advanced Transportation Technology Laboratory, University of Maryland, College Park, and Chair, TRB Young Members Council
James Mullen, Acting Administrator, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, U.S. Department
of Transportation

Nicole R. Nason, Administrator, Federal Highway Administration, Washington, D.C.
James C. Owens, Deputy Administrator and Acting Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation
Leslie S. Richards, General Manager, Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA),
Philadelphia, PA

Craig A. Rutland, U.S. Air Force Pavement Engineer, U.S. Air Force Civil Engineer Center, Tyndall
Air Force Base, FL

Karl L. Schultz (Admiral, U.S. Coast Guard), Commandant, U.S. Coast Guard, Washington, D.C.
Karl Simon, Director, Transportation and Climate Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Paul P. Skoutelas, President and CEO, American Public Transportation Association, Washington, D.C.
Scott A. Spellmon (Major General, U.S. Army), Deputy Commanding General for Civil and Emergency
Operations, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Katherine F. Turnbull, Executive Associate Director and Research Scientist, Texas A&M Transportation Institute, College Station (voting)
Jim Tymon, Executive Director, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials,
Washington, D.C.

K. Jane Williams, Acting Administrator, Federal Transit Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation

** Membership as of August 2020