Contact Us

Airport Cooperative Research Program
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20001

Phone: 202-334-2000


TRB Volunteers and Staff


Field of Special Projects


James Hay, Memphis-Shelby County Airport Authority, Memphis, TN

Cena Swisher, Eastern Research Group, Inc., Arlington, VA

Chelsea Treboniak, Critical Ops, LLC, Westlake, OH

Nayeem Hoq, FAA Liaison

Michel Hovan, FAA Liaison

Aneil Patel, Airports Council International–North America Liaison



Christopher J. Hedges, Director, Cooperative Research Programs

Lori L. Sundstrom, Deputy Director, Cooperative Research Programs

Marci A. Greenberger, Manager, Airport Cooperative Research Program

Brittany Summerlin-Azeez, Program Coordinator

Natalie Barnes, Director of Publications

Heather DiAngelis, Associate Director of Publications

Lisa Whittington, Editor




Rhonda Hamm-Niebruegge, St. Louis Lambert International Airport



Scott McMahon, Morristown Municipal Airport



Gloria G. Bender, TransSolutions, LLC

Rochelle L. Cameron, Philadelphia International Airport

Marianne Csaky, Alaska Airlines

Kimberly A. Kenville, University of North Dakota

Winsome A. Lenfert, Federal Aviation Administration

Frank R. Miller, Hollywood Burbank Airport

Bob Montgomery, Southwest Airlines

Cathryn Stephens, Eugene Airport



Justin Barkowski, American Association of Airport Executives

Sabrina Johnson, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Laura Rinaldi McKee, Airlines for America

Christopher J. Oswald, Airports Council International–North America

Gregory Pecoraro, National Association of State Aviation Officials

Neil J. Pedersen, Transportation Research Board

T.J. Schulz, Airport Consultants Council



Christopher J. Hedges, Transportation Research Board


* Membership as of August 2021.




Chair: Susan A. Shaheen, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Co-Director, Transportation Sustainability Research Center, University of California, Berkeley

Vice Chair: Nathaniel P. Ford, Sr., Chief Executive Officer, Jacksonville Transportation Authority, Jacksonville, FL

Executive Director: Neil J. Pedersen, Transportation Research Board



Michael F. Ableson, CEO, Arrival Automotive–North America, Birmingham, MI

Marie Therese Dominguez, Commissioner, New York State Department of Transportation, Albany

Ginger Evans, Chief Strategy Officer, CAG Holdings, Inc., Washington, D.C.

Michael F. Goodchild, Professor Emeritus, Department of Geography, University of California, Santa Barbara

Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti, Commissioner, New Jersey Department of Transportation, Trenton

Susan Hanson, Distinguished University Professor Emerita, Graduate School of Geography, Clark University, Worcester, MA

Stephen W. Hargarten, Professor, Emergency Medicine, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Chris T. Hendrickson, Hamerschlag University Professor of Engineering Emeritus, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA

Jack Hu, UGA Foundation Distinguished Professor of Engineering, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, University of Georgia, Athens

Randell Iwasaki, Leader, State and Local Transportation for Amazon Web Services, Walnut Creek, CA

Ashby Johnson, Executive Director, Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (CAMPO), Austin, TX

William Kruger, Vice President, UPS Freight for Fleet Maintenance and Engineering, Richmond, VA

Julie Lorenz, Secretary, Kansas Department of Transportation, Topeka

Michael R. McClellan, Vice President – Strategic Planning, Norfolk Southern Corporation, Norfolk, VA

Patrick K. McKenna, Director, Missouri Department of Transportation, Jefferson City

Brian W. Ness, Director, Idaho Transportation Department, Boise

Craig E. Philip, Research Professor and Director, VECTOR, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN

Leslie S. Richards, General Manager, Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA), Philadelphia

Kevin J. Thibault, Secretary, Florida Department of Transportation, Tallahassee

James M. Tien, Distinguished Professor and Dean Emeritus, College of Engineering, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL

Shawn Wilson, Secretary, Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development, Baton Rouge



Michael R. Berube, Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary for Sustainable Transportation, U.S. Department of Energy, Washington, D.C.

Carlos M. Braceras, Executive Director, Utah Department of Transportation, Salt Lake City

Richard Corey, Executive Officer, California Air Resources Board, Sacramento

LeRoy Gishi, Chief, Division of Transportation, Bureau of Indian Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior, Germantown, MD

Martha R. Grabowski, McDevitt Distinguished Chair in Information Systems, Le Moyne College, Syracuse, NY, and Senior Research Scientist, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY

William H. Graham, Jr., (Major General, U.S. Army), Deputy Commanding General for Civil and Emergency Operations, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Washington, D.C.

John T. Gray II, Senior Vice President, Policy and Economics, Association of American Railroads, Washington, D.C.

Eleftheria Kontou, Assistant Professor, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, and Chair, TRB Young Members Coordinating Council

Stephanie Pollack, Acting Administrator, Federal Highway Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation, Washington, D.C.

Craig A. Rutland, U.S. Air Force Pavement Engineer, U.S. Air Force Civil Engineer Center, Tyndall Air Force Base, FL

Karl L. Schultz, (Admiral, U.S. Coast Guard), Commandant, U.S. Coast Guard, Washington, D.C.

Karl Simon, Director, Transportation and Climate Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Washington, D.C.

Paul P. Skoutelas, President and CEO, American Public Transportation Association, Washington, D.C.

Katherine F. Turnbull, Executive Associate Director and Regents Fellow Research Scientist, Texas A&M Transportation Institute, College Station

Jim Tymon, Executive Director, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, Washington, D.C.


** Membership as of August 2021.