Selected Studies in Transportation Law

Volume 1 2014 Supplement

CONSTRUCTION CONTRACT LAW

Transportation Research Board

Selected Studies in Transportation Law

Volume 1 2014 Supplement

CONSTRUCTION CONTRACT LAW

2004 Edition

William G. Boland—Attorney, Olympia, Washington Deborah L. Cade—Assistant Attorney General, State of Washington

2014 Supplement

Eric M. Kerness—Attorney, Schnectady, New York

Peter B. Shawhan—Attorney, Schnectady, New York

James B. McDaniel, The Transportation Research Board, Counsel for Legal Research Projects, coordinated this report and served as content editor.

JAMES B. MCDANIEL, Editor, Present ROSS D. NETHERTON, Editor, 1990–1991 ROBERT W. CUNLIFFE, Editor, 1985–1990 LARRY W. THOMAS, Editor, 1978–1985 JOHN C. VANCE, Editor, 1968–1978

National Cooperative Highway Research Program

Transportation Research Board
The National Academies
Washington, DC

NOTICE

The project that is the subject of this report was a part of the National Cooperative Highway Research Program conducted by the Transportation Research Board with the approval of the Governing Board of the National Research Council, acting in behalf of The National Academies. Such approval reflects the Governing Board's judgment that the program concerned is of national importance and appropriate with respect to both the purposes and resources of the National Research Council.

The members of the Project Panel selected to monitor this project and to review this report were chosen for recognized scholarly competence and with due consideration for the balance of disciplines appropriate to the project. The opinions and conclusions expressed or implied are those of the researchers, and, while they have been accepted as appropriate by the Project Panel, they are not necessarily those of the Transportation Research Board, the National Research Council, The National Academies, or the program sponsors.

ISBN 978-0-309-28388-5 Library of Congress Central No. 2002105952

National Cooperative Highway Research Program Project Committee SP 20-06 2004 Edition

Chairman

James S. Thiel, Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Members

Grady Click, Texas Attorney General's Office

Donald L. Corlew, formerly with the Office of Attorney General of Tennessee

Lawrence A. Durant, Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development

Breland C. Gowan, California Department of Transportation

Michael E. Libonati, Temple University School of Law

Marilyn Newman, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, Boston, Massachusetts

Lynn B. Obernyer, Duncan, Ostrander and Dingess, Denver, Colorado (Deceased)

Julia L. Perry, Federal Highway Administration

Richard L. Tiemeyer, Missouri Highway and Transportation Commission

Richard L. Walton, Office of the Attorney General of the Commonwealth of Virginia

Steven E. Wermcrantz, Wermcrantz Law Office, Springfield, Illinois

Robert L. Wilson, Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department

Federal Highway Administration Liaison

Edward V. Kussey, Deputy Chief Counsel, Federal Highway Administration, Washington, DC

Cooperative Research Program Staff

Robert J. Reilly, Director, Cooperative Research Programs

Crawford F. Jenks, NCHRP Manager

Eileen P. Delaney, Managing Editor

National Cooperative Highway Research Program Project Committee SP 20-06 2014 Supplement

Chairman

Michael E. Tardif, Friemund, Jackson and Tardif, LLC, Olympia, Washington

Members

Richard A. Christopher, HDR Engineering, Chicago, Illinois

JoAnn Georgallis, California Department of Transportation

William E. James, Tennessee Attorney General's Office

Pamela S. Leslie, Miami-Dade Expressway Authority

Thomas G. Reeves, Consultant, Gardiner, Maine

Marcelle Sattiewhite Jones, Jacobs, Carter and Burgess, Inc.

Robert J. Shea, Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

Jay L. Smith, Missouri Department of Transportation

John W. Strahan, Consultant, Topeka, Kansas

Thomas Viall, Consultant, Montpelier, Vermont

Federal Highway Administration Liaison

Janet Myers, Office of Chief Counsel, Federal Highway Administration, Washington, DC

Cooperative Research Program Staff

Christopher Jenks, Director, Cooperative Research Programs

Crawford F. Jencks, P.E., Deputy Director (Retired)

Christopher Hedges, NCHRP Manager

Gwen Chisholm-Smith, Senior Program Officer

Eileen P. Delaney, Director of Publications