TRB Volunteers and Staff

Field of Policy and Planning

Laurie Cullen, VHB, Providence, RI (Chair)
Roddy L. Boggus, Parsons Brinckerhoff, Inc., Dallas, TX
Eric Glick, Nevada DOT, Carson City, NV
Shelley Lamar, Aerotropolis Atlanta Alliance
, Atlanta, GA
Michael J. Minerva, American Airlines, Washington, DC
Luther H. Roberts, Jr., Huntsville – Madison County Airport Authority, Huntsville, AL
Kyler Erhard, FAA Liaison
Matt Cornelius, Airports Council International – North America Liaison
Stephen J. Andrle, TRB Liaison


Christopher J. Hedges, Director, Cooperative Research Programs
Lori L. Sundstrom, Deputy Director, Cooperative Research Programs
Michael R. Salamone, Manager, Airport Cooperative Research Program
Lawrence D. Goldstein, Senior Program Officer
Anthony P. Avery, Senior Program Assistant
Eileen P. Delaney, Director of Publications
Ellen M. Chafee, Senior Editor


Kitty Freidheim
Freidheim Consulting

Kelly Johnson
Northwest Arkansas Regional Airport Authority

Gloria G. Bender
Thella F. Bowens
San Diego County Regional Airport Authority
Benito de Leon
Federal Aviation Administration
Deborah Flint
Los Angeles World Airports
Rhonda Hamm-Niebruegge
Lambert-St. Louis International Airport
Margaret McKeough
Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
Scott McMahon
Morristown Municipal Airport
Frank Miller
Hollywood Burbank Airport
Bob Montgomery
Southwest Airlines
Eric Potts
Freese and Nichols, Inc.
Megan S. Ryerson
University of Pennsylvania

Sabrina Johnson
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Mark Kimberling
National Association of State Aviation Officials
Laura McKee
Airlines for America
Christopher Oswald
Airports Council International—North America
Neil J. Pedersen
Transportation Research Board
Melissa Sabatine
American Association of Airport Executives
T.J. Schulz
Airport Consultants Council

Christopher J. Hedges
Transportation Research Board

*Membership as of November 2016



Chair: Malcolm Dougherty, Director, California Department of Transportation, Sacramento
Vice Chair: Katherine F. Turnbull, Executive Associate Director and Research Scientist, Texas A&M Transportation Institute, College Station
Executive Director: Neil J. Pedersen, Transportation Research Board


Victoria A. Arroyo, Executive Director, Georgetown Climate Center; Assistant Dean, Centers and Institutes; and Professor and Director, Environmental Law Program, Georgetown University Law Center, Washington, DC
Scott E. Bennett, Director, Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department, Little Rock
Jennifer Cohan, Secretary, Delaware DOT, Dover
James M. Crites, Executive Vice President of Operations, Dallas–Fort Worth International Airport, TX
Nathaniel P. Ford, Sr., Executive Director–CEO, Jacksonville Transportation Authority, Jacksonville, FL
Stewart Fotheringham, Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, Arizona State University, Tempe
John S. Halikowski, Director, Arizona DOT, Phoenix
Susan Hanson, Distinguished University Professor Emerita, Graduate School of Geography, Clark University, Worcester, MA
Steve Heminger, Executive Director, Metropolitan Transportation Commission, Oakland, CA
Chris T. Hendrickson, Hamerschlag Professor of Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA
Jeffrey D. Holt, Managing Director, Power, Energy, and Infrastructure Group, BMO Capital Markets Corporation, New York
Jack Hu, Vice President for Research and J. Reid and Polly Anderson Professor of Manufacturing, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Roger B. Huff, President, HGLC, LLC, Farmington Hills, MI
Geraldine Knatz, Professor, Sol Price School of Public Policy, Viterbi School of Engineering, University of Southern California, Los Angeles
Melinda McGrath, Executive Director, Mississippi DOT, Jackson
James P. Redeker, Commissioner, Connecticut DOT, Newington
Mark L. Rosenberg, Executive Director, The Task Force for Global Health, Inc., Decatur, GA
Daniel Sperling, Professor of Civil Engineering and Environmental Science and Policy; Director, Institute of Transportation Studies, University of California, Davis
Gary C. Thomas, President and Executive Director, Dallas Area Rapid Transit, Dallas, TX
Pat Thomas, Senior Vice President of State Government Affairs, United Parcel Service, Washington, DC
Dean H. Wise, Vice President of Network Strategy, Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railway, Fort Worth, TX
Charles A. Zelle, Commissioner, Minnesota DOT, Saint Paul


Alberto Ayala, Deputy Executive Officer, California Air Resources Board, Sacramento
Mary R. Brooks, Professor Emerita, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada, and Chair, TRB Marine Board
Sarah E. Feinberg, Acting Administrator, Federal Railroad Administration, U.S. DOT
LeRoy Gishi, Chief, Division of Transportation, Bureau of Indian Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior, Washington, DC
John T. Gray II, Senior Vice President, Policy and Economics, Association of American Railroads, Washington, DC
Michael P. Huerta, Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration, U.S. DOT
Daphne Y. Jefferson, Deputy Administrator, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, U.S. DOT
Bevan B. Kirley, Research Associate, University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center, Chapel Hill, and Chair, TRB Young Members Council
Howard McMillan, Acting Administrator, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, U.S. DOT
Wayne Nastri, Acting Executive Officer, South Coast Air Quality Management District, Diamond Bar, CA
Mark R. Rosekind, Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, U.S. DOT
Craig A. Rutland, U.S. Air Force Pavement Engineer, U.S. Air Force Civil Engineer Center, Tyndall Air Force Base, FL
Reuben Sarkar, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Transportation, U.S. Department of Energy
Todd T. Semonite (Lieutenant General, U.S. Army), Chief of Engineers and Commanding General, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Washington, DC
Karl Simon, Director, Transportation and Climate Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Joel Szabat, Acting Deputy Administrator, Maritime Administration, U.S. DOT
Walter C. Waidelich, Jr., Acting Deputy Administrator, Federal Highway Administration, U.S. DOT
Matthew Welbes, Executive Director, Federal Transit Administration, U.S. DOT
Richard A. White, Acting President and CEO, American Public Transportation Association, Washington, DC
Frederick G. (Bud) Wright, Executive Director, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, Washington, DC
Paul F. Zukunft (Admiral, U.S. Coast Guard), Commandant, U.S. Coast Guard, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

* Membership as of February 2017.